Calendar

Unfortunately, the Pyranees trip has been cancelled as there was not enough demand. We hope to replace it with some more local away trips.

Iain Moor is now the trip organiser, assisted by a couple of other people. We will usually have trips for the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month. One Tuesday will usually be a cave and the other a mine.

Members are informed of the meet points by email during the week before the event. We do not give precise locations on the calendar to prevent non members putting themselves at risk or causing damage to the site or our reputation. We hope you understand. Tuesday trips start at 7.30pm. Arrive 7pm to 7.15 ish to be ready on time. We ask members to respond to the email if they want to attend.

Temporary Membership
If you are visiting or If you are not a member yet, but want to attend a trip, then you can become a temporary member for £10 (an utter bargain compared to going underground with a commercial company.) This gives you up to 2 “Easy” trips within a couple of months, plus the lend of a helmet and lamp. Your £10 can then go towards full membership. Please get in touch on our Join Us page, letting us know which trip(s) you want to go on.

Upcoming Events

Due 2024

Tue 02 July  Prihamsleigh Cave. £1.50 fee to landowner. Easy & muddy.
Tue 16 July  Reeds cave (Provisional) Challenging. Needs clean suit etc.
Tue 06 Aug   Magnetic iron ore mine near Haytor. Fairly easy after entrance slope
Tue 20 Aug   EITHER Colourful mine near Callington. Rope access/semi SRT
             OR Copper mine near Gunnislake
Tue 03 Sept  Baker's Pit. Fairly easy after vertical ladder entry.
Tue 17 Sept  Copper mine near Pensilva. Easy.
Sat 28 Sept  Micaceous hematite (used for battle ship paint) mine near Chudleigh. Day trip. STR. Richard.
(N.B. The charge for use of rope access has now been abolished)

Then trips on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month UFN.

PROVISIONAL AWAY TRIP
"Winch Meet" Bresslington Derbyshire. Lowered into the bowels of the Earth on a bosun's chair & explore once down there. Courtesy of a private company twice a year. TBC

PROVISIONAL SRT TRAINING
Possibly over summer, depending on demand.
Trip to Derbyshire Caving Association for professional SRT training at £30 per person per day.

PROVISIONAL MID WALES TRIP

So that you can more easily see what we have been up to, recent and previous events are listed below the calendar. Highlighted events have trip reports.

Calendar

Previous Events

Recent 2024

Tue 25 June  Large mine, Tamar valley. Easy, very wet with red ochre clay. Leader: Richard.
Wed 19 June  Committee meeting. Members welcome to observe.
Fri to Sunday 7, 8, 9 June - South Wales including Ogof Ffynnon Ddu
Tue 04 June  Caves at Chudleigh. Leader: Richard.
Tue 21 May - Large mine near Gunnislake. Leader: Richard.
Tue 07 May - Reeds Cave, challenging. Leader: Craig.
Tue 16 Apr - Mine near Callington. Optional SRT/ladder/slope entrance. Leader: Iain.
Sat 13 Apr - Afton Rift cave, nr Totnes. challenging. Leader: Richard.
Tue 02 Apr - West Ogwell Cave near Newton Abbot. Leader: Richard.
Tue 26 Mar - Slate mine near Ashburton. SRT. Full
Wed 20 Mar - 7.30 pm: Committee Meeting.
Tue 12 Mar - Mine near Callington. Cancelled due to safety
Tue 19 Mar - Radford Cave. Cancelled due to safety
Tue 05 Mar - Mine tunnel near Callington.
Wed 21 Feb - Annual General Meeting. Pengelly Centre.
Tue 20 Feb - Bakers Pit cave, Buckfastleigh.
Tue 6  Feb - Dog Hole cave, nr. Pridhamsleigh. £1.50 access fee
Tue 23 Jan – Mine near Brixham. Cancelled due to bad weather :-(
             Due to be rescheduled for summer.
Tue 9  Jan - Pridhamsleigh Cavern. Leader: Colin.

2023
Wed 27 Dec – Bath Stone Mines. Day trip. Easy. Leader: Richard.
Fri 22 Dec - Christmas Dinner, Dartbridge Inn, Buckfastleigh.
Wed 20 Dec - Committee Meeting. Pengelly.
Tue 19 Dec – Mine near Horrabridge (Christmas trip) Easy
Tue 5  Dec – Baker’s Pit. Ladders down, then easy. Leader: Richard.
Sun 26 Nov - Colourful Cornish Mine day trip
Tue 7  Nov – Radford Cave. Easy. Leader: Richard.
Sat 4  Nov – SRT Training 10am Pengelly.
Sun 22 Oct  Colourful Cornish Mine day trip. 10.30am.
Tue 3  Oct  Afton Red Rift Cave. Difficult to V Difficult.
Wed 20 Sep  Committee Meeting. Pengelly Centre.
Tue 19 Sep  Mine near Tavistock. SRT.

DERBYSHIRE TRIP
Friday to Sunday 8, 9, 10 September  Caving trip to Castleton, Derbyshire, including Peak Cavern by permit. Also mines in the area. Hut fee was £8 per night for 2 nights- Friday and Saturday, payable to PCG in advance. Hut brochure:
https://tsgcaving.co.uk/sites/tsgcaving.co.uk/files/Documents/TSG_Chapel_Brochure.pdf
3D model of local caves & mines 
https://peakdistrictcaving.info/pages/psp_model

Tue 22 Aug  Pridhamsleigh Cavern. Muddy. Leader: Colin.
Tue 08 Aug  Mine near Callington. SRT. Leader: Richard.

ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND
Sat 15 July  1pm Pridhamsleigh Cavern. Anniversary trip.
Sat 15 July  6pm Anniversary Meal with founding members. Dartbridge Inn. 
Followed by social at Pengelly
Sun 16 July  10am?  Bakers Pit Cave. Anniversary trip. Leader: Richard.

Tue 4 July  Mine near Callington (official pcg trip) Might be wet. Leader: Karen. Also-
Tue 4 July  Bunkers Hole Cave. Unoficial survey/photographic trip with Richard. Members welcome. Quite tight.

Tue 20 June  Colourful mine near Gunnislake. Walk in, fairly dry. Leader: Brian.
Wed 14 June  Committee Meeting, Pengelly Centre. Members may observe.
Tue 30 May  Virtuous Lady Mine, via a private garden.
Sunday 28 May 11am. Heamatitie mine near Bovey Tracey run by the Kelly Mine Trust, as their special guests.
Tue 16 May  Bunkers Hole Cave, Dean Pryor. Leader: Craig or Richard.
Tue 02 May  Reeds Cave, Buckfastleigh. Special trip. Leader: Richard.
Tue 25 Apr  'Tango near the Tamar!' Trelawney Consols, Calstock. Red ochre mine with deep red muddy water!
Tue 18 Apr  Hawkswood Mine, through trip. Wolframite- tungsten ore. Semi SRT steep entry descent. Thigh height wet in exit adit.
Tue 11 Apr  Haytor Iron Mine. Magnetite. Wet in 1 adit.
Tue 04 Apr  Bakers Pit Cave
Tue 21 Mar  Mine near Callington. SRT & non SRT access.
Wed 15 Mar  Committee meeting. Pengelly/Online. Open meeting- members may attend and observe committee meetings, though not vote.
Tue 14 Mar  Mine near Gunnislake. Partly wet. Leader:Dave W.
Mon 13 Mar  7.30 Pengelly Centre. Devon and Cornwall Underground Council (DCUC) AGM. All PCG members welcome.
Tue 07 Mar  Mine near Liskeard. Leader: Dave W.
Tue 28 Feb  Mine near Callington. Leader: Karen.
Tue 21 Feb  Pridhamsleigh Cavern. Leader: Colin.
Wed 15 Feb  AGM All Members. Pengelly/Online.
Tue 07 Feb  Rarely visited mine near Horrabridge. Limited to 6.
Sun 29 Jan  Special trip. Bakers Pit cave, Buckfastleigh. Leader: Richard.
Tue 17 Jan  Mine near Callington. Wet. Leader: Brian.
Tue 10 Jan  Infrequently visited cave near Buckfastleigh. Muddy.

Previous 2022
Tue 27 Dec Adit near Tavistock. Wet.

Sat 17 Dec  7.30 Christmas Dinner. Dartbridge Inn, Buckfastleigh.
Accomodation was available at the Pengelly Centre for those not wishing to drive after.

Tue 13 Dec  Virtuous Lady mine near Tavistock. Bring spare clothes & towel as usual.
Wed 07 Dec  Committee meeting Pengelly/Online.
Tue 06 Dec  Adit near Callington. Wet: Change of clothes.

Fri 2 to Sun 4 Dec  South Wales Xmas trip- Llangattock.
Hut fee £10 per night
Trip to Ogof Ffynnon Ddu (OFD) via permit.
Trip to Graig y Ffynnon.

Tue 29 Nov  Mine near Tavistock, Very wet & orange! Spare clothes & towel. Leader: Brian.
Tue 22 Nov  400 Metre adit near Saltash. Very wet- chest height! Bring spare clothing. Leader: Brian.
Tue 15 Nov  Silver mine, Bere Peninsular.
Tue 08 Nov  Pridhamsleigh Caverns- Exploring the attics etc. Easy, but very muddy. Leader: Richard.
Tue 01 Nov  No trip organised due to illness.
Tue 25 Oct  Mine near Gunnislake. Easy, but wet. Bring change of clothes.
Tue 18 Oct  Walk in mine near River Walkham, Devon. Easy, wet.
Tue 11 Oct  Walk in mine near Grenofen, Devon. Easy, wet.
Tue 04 Oct  Baker's Pit Cave, Buckfastleigh. "Hoping to head to the lower part of the cave towards Bullycleaves." Deep ladder access, crawling, medium. Leader: Richard.
Tue 27 Sept  Mine, nr Bere Alston, Devon. Wet.

Thu 22 to Mon 26 Sept  North Wales Trip. Hut fee £12/night
Friday    Gp1 Cwmorthin. Walk in. Courtesy of Go Below.
          Gp2 Croesor Rhosydd through trip (CRTT). SRT. Guide required.
Saturday  Gp1 Great Orm. SRT.
          Gp2 Long quarry drainage adit & underground workings. Wet.
Sunday    Drainage Tunnel. 400 foot deep ladder access. 9 hour trip.
Monday    Slate Museum & Return home.

Wed 21 Sept  Committee meeting. Pengelly/Online.
Tue 20 Sept  Hematite mine, Bovey Tracey. Long walk, easy, dry.
Tue 13 Sept  Mine near Liskeard. Medium, wet.
Tue 06 Sept  Tunnel in Cornwall. Easy, wet.
Tue 30 Aug   Mine
Tue 23 Aug   Very colourful mine. Cornwall via 30m 60º shaft. Semi SRT.
Tue 16 Aug   Cave- Pridhamsleigh Cavern. Beginners, muddy.
Tue 09 Aug   Tunnel in Devon. Easy, wet, long.
Tue 02 Aug   Mines Nr Gunnislake.
Tue 26 July  Cave
Tue 19 July  Mine
Tue 12 July  Devon Great Consuls
Tue 05 July  Clapham Junction Mine. Kit Hill. Easy SRT.
Tue 28 June  Cave
Tue 21 June  Adit near Chillaton, Devon. Adit, easy.
Tue 14 June  Deer Park Adit. Nr the Tamar. Adit, easy.
Tue 03 May   SRT Training, Chudlegh.

Agenda

Aug
6
Tue
Magnetic iron ore mine near Haytor. Fairly easy after entrance slope
Aug 6 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Aug
20
Tue
EITHER Colourful mine near Callington. Rope access/semi SRT OR Copper mine near Gunnislake
Aug 20 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Sep
3
Tue
Baker’s Pit. Fairly easy after vertical ladder entry.
Sep 3 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Sep
17
Tue
Copper mine near Pensilva. Easy.
Sep 17 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Sep
18
Wed
Committee. Members welcome to observe.
Sep 18 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
Sep
28
Sat
Micaceous hematite (used for battle ship paint) large mine near Chudleigh. Day trip. STR. Richard.
Sep 28 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Oct
1
Tue
1st Tuesday- Event TBA. Usually a cave.
Oct 1 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Oct
15
Tue
3rd Tuesday- Event TBA. Usually a mine
Oct 15 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Nov
5
Tue
1st Tuesday- Event TBA. Usually a cave.
Nov 5 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Nov
19
Tue
3rd Tuesday- Event TBA. Usually a mine
Nov 19 @ 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm

Comments are closed.